About Me

Michael Burnam-Fink
MBF-data-science
Published in
1 min readOct 14, 2018

I’m currently employed as a data scientist at First Republic Bank, where I help use data to make First Republic’s exceptional client-focused banking even better. This is my personal blog, and anything here is my own opinion, and in no way represents an official statement from First Republic.

I am an interdisciplinary data and social scientist studying the interactions between knowledge and power, ideals and responsibilities, in a variety of settings. I completed my dissertation in August 2016 at Arizona State University’s School for the Future of Innovation and Society. My thesis, “Making Better Students: ADHD and the Biopolitics of Stimulant Medication” analyzed the relationship between the psychiatric diagnosis of ADHD, the political program of disability accommodations, and the emerging practice of human enhancement.

As a Data Scientist, I have developed several projects that look at user behavior and further study how other scientific collaborations evolve. I also participated in the Metis Data Science Bootcamp in San Francisco, which I absolutely endorse!

As a futurist, I’ve developed a unique narrative foresight system, Eventuality, which helps groups rapidly prototype plausible stories about the future, and I’ve lead workshops and research presentations on the ways in which humans’ innate story-telling capacities can be used to make the future more real, relevant, and relatable.

When I am not working, I love to read. I read over 100 books a year (200 in 2017!) and review every book on Goodreads. I’m an expert skier and avid boardgamer.

--

--

Michael Burnam-Fink
MBF-data-science

Data Scientist, PhD, Science Policy, Futurism, Airpower Enthusiast