A Familiar Stranger.

Impana Jain
MCC LitSoc
Published in
Apr 13, 2022

Love has been a familiar stranger

Like someone I’d see on the metro every single day,

Eyes meet,

Today,

Tomorrow,

And then some more.

Someone that makes me look forward to the monotonous routine,

Someone close, yet a stranger.

I have heard oh so many stories.

From Portia to Daphne,

I long to be.

For now, I have found love in silences,

In the exchange of glances, and coy smiles,

Through others’ stories and their eyes.

I have always experienced love from the last bench,

Always daydreaming while love happened around me.

One day, I hope to see love from the very first row,

Exchange smiles and glances with a person I know,

Someone I met through a friend, at a library, or at the metro.

Eyes meet,

Today,

Tomorrow,

And then some more.

Love becomes a friend, a soulmate.

--

--