DEAR JANE GLORIANA VILLANUEVA

MCC LitSoc
MCC LitSoc
Published in
2 min readSep 5, 2021

It’s a mystery how I have so much to express and yet find myself short of words.

Growing up we are always told to pursue ‘a real career’ and that dreams of becoming a writer or a singer or any occupation of such sort are meant to be nothing but just dreams because it would consume all your time and pay none of your bills.

You taught me to never give up on my dreams by becoming that fierce and fabulous published writer you are despite the struggles of being a mom at the age of 23. Your life had not been anything short of an emotional rollercoaster but here you stand, nonetheless.

Jane, you showed me how every relationship is always flawed. Be it mother-daughter, husband-wife, or grandmother-granddaughter. There are disagreements, judgements and there is pain but at the end of the day what really matters is that love brings us together just like your front porch did.

And most importantly, you taught me compassion. That rawness of emotions is what makes us human and connects us with one another. You taught me that it was okay to be fidgeting with multiple emotions all at once and that it was okay to let it all out and to break, sometimes.

You are so real, with flaws which you don’t conceal, so humane and oh so breath-taking.

Thank you for truly being yourself and teaching me how to fiercely be myself.

With lots of love,

Sristi.

1st year B.Com Professional

--

--

MCC LitSoc
MCC LitSoc

This space belongs to Lit Heads who stay alive for poetry, beauty, romance, and love. Welcome to MCC's Literary Society.