Inescapable Humdrum

Madhumayi Parakala
MCC LitSoc
Published in
1 min readAug 16, 2020

Why do I keep looking at the sameness?

Whiling away time

As if I’m dead beat

Yet feel my own’s apocryphal in my bones

As they thump-

“What's your excuse?

Too much work at school?

That leaves you no time for a pursuit?

A deadhead full of cavities in your mouth

A leach devoid of its suckers.”

What do I do?

Turn to the filth

To rid myself of the guilt

Or I could burn all the memories

Till there’s nothing left of me.

That reminds you of a calamity.

Or I could pull it together

With forced endeavour

So a day doesn’t begin or end with a scrunch

And my people are pleased as a punch

And I walk on eggshells forever.

But what am I going to do now?

I’m going to keep eating the fries

Because that’s who I am.

A taker of the granted.

An ally of the doomed.

~ Madhumayi Parakala

--

--