Lovesick

MCC LitSoc
MCC LitSoc
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2021

Trigger Warning- Murder.

I slowly held her face

brought it closer to mine-

pecked a little kiss

because oh how lovely she looks

with her eyes shut.

I cradled her in my arms

while she cried in agony;

shrieked in horror.

My only motive, I promise,

was to soothe my darling.

why am I still the bad guy?

it felt so good;

ridding her of everything

that could possibly do her torment.

My only motive, I promise,

was to relieve my sweetheart.

Why are then fingers pointed at me?

Well, I guess I’ll be the bogeyman

if it means my babe is in a better place,

after all, nothing is greater

than her peace of mind.

I can’t understand why

this little act deems me

inhumane when she asked for it?

For freedom, for her to get away from everything?

signs everywhere — of course, I did what she wanted me to.

I don’t feel regret or remorse.

I know what I did and the gravity of it.

I know my angel felt peace

after I withdrew the knife

from her lifeless body,

after I withdrew my arms

from her once wailing body.

She’ll be proud of me, I know,

for doing what she wanted.

for catching her hints.

My only motive, though, I promise,

was to free my baby

of these worldly horrors.

-Samya Puranik

1st year PyEC

--

--

MCC LitSoc
MCC LitSoc

This space belongs to Lit Heads who stay alive for poetry, beauty, romance, and love. Welcome to MCC's Literary Society.