Morning Text

riyable
MCC LitSoc
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2020

He texts me every morning,

I wake up to his good morning texts,

Always.

He tells me he woke up thinking about me,

And rightfully feels to wake me up.

He texts me when the sun isn’t out yet-

He grabs from me the sparkle of my mornings,

Strains it to suit his taste buds and

Pours it into his cup.

He begins his day with it.

I can feel the warmth of his text on my skin.

I can feel the screen of my phone light up my face.

I can feel the ring of the notification plunge my heart!

I think I wasted my savings on that antique alarm clock,

But then I know I may need it after all.

I wonder how every morning he doesn’t fail to text me,

I wonder if this is perpetual.

I’m not satisfied with his texts,

He makes me feel like timber!

It requires less maintenance and is cost-effective.

He uses me and keeps me by his side with apathy,

He makes me feel important at the same time- unworthy.

I can feel the mutter in his fragile eyes,

I can see his face from miles away,

I want to see the sun in his eyes,

I long to see the grin on his face.

I develop this morning text as a custom.

I wait for his text every day, for it to begin my day.

I hope he texts me every day.

~ Riya Gupta

Riya Gupta

--

--