Shall I teach you piano?

MCC LitSoc
MCC LitSoc
Published in
4 min readSep 5, 2021

I walk into the room and swiftly walk past Father, not even making eye contact. He was somebody I viewed with quite a lot of fear because I had seen him scold his student one day, and let’s just say it left a mark on me. I made my way to a free keyboard that was available in a room full of keyboards and students. I lifted the red cloth, took the little napkin, and wiped the keys before I switched on the keyboard. It was just like any other day, I was practicing my finger exercises, which I picked up quickly and immediately moved on to some of the beginner lessons. I had seen him teach students who were seated in cabins which made it look like they were special and they all played the piano, which to me at the time looked so much classy and more elegant than the instrument in front of me. I’d hear notes and pieces through the transparent walls, or should I call them windows, well you couldn’t open them. Every student inside the cabin seemed to be playing melodies that sounded very sophisticated and interesting to my ear. I would see the huge black and brown pianos through the glass, and look at the yellow and rusty keys and just stare at its beauty and elegance, there was just something to it that made it look so majestic. Like something out of a medieval church.

One day as I was midway through my class, which also translates to I-desperately-need-a-break and stepped out on the pretext of wanting to drink water, Father Thomas, just asked me, “Shall I teach you piano?” and the only right answer to that was yes, and I was very happy. Let’s just say not everybody gets picked by Father to be his student. The next class onwards I became Father Thomas’ student, a title that I donned with much pride. Initially I remember being frustrated with the number of times I had to practice the same piece or exercise; I’d find every excuse to step out for a breather. Being Father’s student also meant everyday class as opposed to the alternate day class for keyboard. It was when Father taught me music and different signs, symbols and notes in music that I truly felt I was learning. The way he explained everything made music so interesting and something that I could truly feel and enjoy. I marveled at my own ability to play certain pieces I never thought I would be able to play. There were a few phrases that Father kept repeating to every single student of his, “Dare to be different”, “Exert to excel”. He was one of the first people who truly inspired me with music and his teaching. I stopped studying piano after a few months as I felt the timings were affecting my homework and assignments, but I hated the thought of not being able to be Father’s student, so I continued to keep in touch with him. I met him several times since I stopped piano in eighth grade. Every time I would meet him there would always be a student asking him a doubt or asking him to listen to a piece that they had finished practicing.

In November of 2019, I went for the silver jubilee celebration of Chetana Music Academy of which Father Thomas was a pillar. My excitement for the concert that day was uncontainable. Father who has been teaching piano for decades now has students who have taken up music professionally and excelled at it, Stephen Devassy, Robin Thomas and William Francis to name a few. All of his students came back for this concert and the excitement and enthusiasm was palpable. That night my life literally flashed before my eyes, listening to every single student of his play the piano so amazingly well and to hear all of them talk about Father and his teaching brought tears to my eyes. Around forty-five minutes into the show, all of his students had planned a surprise for him, a piece that they had composed, which each of them would get to play with their beloved teacher Father Thomas, at the grand piano placed in the middle of the stage. That performance was the best thing that I had ever heard in my life, and I remember after the show got over, I saw Father and I asked him, “Can I hug you?” and my eyes immediately welled up.

That one moment, that one night, made me realise how Father Thomas had changed my life. I have never had so much respect, love and awe for any teacher I have ever had. His little anecdotes he would narrate often in class were so inspiring and touching. Father truly brought me closer to music: my love and my passion, his teaching and commitment to his music, work and piano has motivated me in ways I could never put down in words. Every time his hands would touch the keys, the notes weaved into such a beautiful melody, so effortlessly. The spark in his eye when his student plays a piece well or his little lift of the eyebrow when there’s even the smallest mistake while playing have made me smile and cherish my experience being his student. Though I stopped studying piano years ago, I don’t think I ever really stopped learning from you, Father.

-Nallur Manasa Ramesh, 1st year CZM.

--

--

MCC LitSoc
MCC LitSoc

This space belongs to Lit Heads who stay alive for poetry, beauty, romance, and love. Welcome to MCC's Literary Society.