Was it a Dream?

Siddhi Dixit
MCC LitSoc
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2021

Was it a Dream?

Was it a dream? Waves of comfort, love and warmth blanket around me as I dabble into the sea of memories. It left me wide awake in the reverie of the past.

They say time is precious, whiling it away being costly in the hands of human beings! But the seemingly less availability of leisure had me in a perplexed state making me wonder, “how can I make use of it?”

Looking back, I realized it was quite simple. We all hear the echo of self-reflection, yet never meditate on it. We follow a culture of family orientation, yet never work on it. We all want to develop an avocation, yet never act on it.

It was odd at first to have a cup of tea at four in the evening with my family, especially on a weekday. But eventually, we got around the awkwardness. Small talks turned into a reminiscence of the past. Crisps and aroma of experimental foods used to fill the air. It was pleasant to lay in my mom’s lap, talking about my parent’s twenty-five-year bond. Ironically, the days became shorter.

The raging pandemic was tucked into a corner as the feeling of ‘home sweet home’ permeated our lives.

Time gives us the opportunity to heal. The scars of the past were now covered with the astute realization of self. New hobbies were adopted. Laughter grazed the interior of the present. Complex personas took the path of simplicity. The interlude in these lock-down days was characterized by the tranquility of ‘I’ and the world. My parents seemed less stressed, my brother and I closer than ever. As I sink back into the reality of today, a smile graces my face. Amidst the actuality of today, I still deliberate “Was it a dream?”

Siddhi Dixit

--

--