Charting The Course

The Annotated Bibliography

Mason Mc
McClintocks Making History
18 min readMay 1, 2019

--

Introduction

Ever since I can remember people have been telling me what a great name I have. “Mason James McClintock”, they say, “what a great name.” My dad has told me that people have always said this to him as well, and that I should be proud to have such a powerful name.

McClintock is an anglicized surname derived from Scottish and Irish origins. It has been primarily traced back to Donegal, Ireland, which coincidentally is where my family is from according to our family tree. Because of the apparent weight and distinction that the name McClintock carries, I thought a good way to do it justice would be to research where my ancestors came from, and how they have represented the McClintock name throughout history.

Through my research, I hope to form a meaningful connection between the history of the Scots-Irish and the history of my family. I also am hoping to preserve the lives of my family in a way that is accessible to future generations. The sources I choose will each contribute to these goals in different ways. During the process of completing this research, I hope to come to a better understanding of how my ancestors actions during their lives caused me to end up where I am today, as well as what it really means to be a McClintock.

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups

Thernstrom, Stephan. “Scotch-Irish.” Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups, Belknap Press of Harvard Univ. Press, 1994, pp. 895–916.

The Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups tells the many detailed stories of how different ethnic groups arrived in America throughout history its history. Over 100 ethnic groups are mentioned throughout the text, and the existence of this profound work shows just how diverse America is. It discusses history mainly in terms of immigration to America, and the events of history that led to different groups deciding to make this journey at different points throughout history.

The Scots-Irish section of this work pertains most to my ancestral line. It discusses how and why groups of Scots were forced by England to migrate from Scotland to Ireland and subsequently how and why they were forced to migrate to America about 100 years later. Throughout the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries millions of Scotch-Irish migrated from what was then known as Ulster to different parts of America for different reasons. The Scotch-Irish settled throughout America and did not tend to stay in one place for long. Because of this, there are people with Scotch-Irish heritage all over North America, and 1 in 30 Americans have Scotch-Irish heritage.

I learned through this encyclopedia that there were many Scotch-Irish that immigrated to America landed in Nova Scotia, which is close to New Brunswick where my family lived after arriving in America. The likely causes of my ancestors’ emigration from Donegal were likely overpopulation, the depression in the textile trade, and the end of the Napoleonic War which caused farming to become more competitive around 1826. The fares to cross the Atlantic were also extremely during the time when my ancestors crosses. My family to this day is Presbyterian, and according this source Scotch-Irish have been Presbyterian since they left Scotland.

Ancestry.com

“20 Million Members Have Connected To a Deeper Family Story.” Ancestry, www.ancestry.com/.

My family tree traced back to my first ancestor in America, George W. McClintock

Ancestry.com is an extensive and useful website that allows one to use historical documents to map out their family tree. These documents include things like wills, contracts, and censuses. Through these documents I was able to map out my family tree all the way back to when the McClintocks first left Ireland in 1831. Ancestry helped me to find important dates for the timeline of my family’s history such as births, marriages, and deaths of my ancestors, and where they took place.

I mapped out my family tree all the way back to my 3rd great grandfather, George W. McClintock. He was born in Donegal, Ireland in 1821, and crossed the Atlantic in 1831 with his parents arriving and settling for a time in New Brunswick, Canada. After about ten years he moved to Miami County, Ohio. He was married twice, and it was with his second wife, Elizabeth Holland Barr, that he had Barton Emery McClintock, my 2nd great grandfather.

Ancestry provided me with an extensive array of historical documents that are relevant to my family history narrative. Through these documents I was able to map out a family tree that will serve as the base from which I will conduct the rest of my research going forward. This base will allow me to connect the dates and locations of events in my family with the events from history that have occurred during each of their lives. The historical documents have given me authentic sources that were written when my ancestors were actually alive, and this has allowed me to get a better sense of the times they were living in and given me a better perspective from which to continue my research.

McClintock Family History

Private document written by Myron E. McClintock

The McClintock Family History is a document written by my grandfather that tells the story of George Washington McClintock and his son Andrew McClintock. The document was produced using records from Velma McClintock Rasneor, the daughter of Barton Emery McClintock. It contains information important dates in George W.’s life such as his birth, when he came to America, and when he came to the United States. There is also some information about what George W. and his son Andrew did during their lives and how they were as people in their communities.

George W. McClintock became one of the substantial and respected farmers in his community in Auglaize County, Ohio. He built his own farm and spent the majority of his adult life there. His son Andrew continued to work and live on the farm after George W. passed away. George W. had a total of 14 kids during his life. He had 6 with his first wife, Margaret Steen, and 8 with his second wife, Elizabeth Barr. His son Andrew came from his first wife, while my great great grandfather, Barton Emery, came from his second wife. Barton’s daughter, Velma was still alive at the time this document was written and provided the majority of the information for it.

The McClintock Family History is very relevant to my family narrative because it is literally part of my family narrative that has already been written and recorded. It shows that my grandfather had enough pride in our family and its history to make sure there was something that told a story of how it started in the U.S., and by including it in this project I am continuing what he started so many years ago.

American Heritage: The Scotch-Irish

Leyburn, James. “The Scotch-Irish.” AMERICAN HERITAGE, 1970, www.americanheritage.com/.

This excerpt from the American Heritage Magazine covers the history of Scotch-Irish immigrants in America. It discusses when they came throughout history, what sort of careers and lifestyles they engaged in, what form of religion they practiced, and how they were viewed by society in America.

The Scotch-Irish immigrants tended to be very self-reliant people that were successful in society. There have been many leaders throughout history, including presidents, that have Scotch-Irish descent. Many Scotch-Irish are members of the presbyterian church, which originated in Scotland. Presbyterians tend to have a very serious and firm take on religion and life in general.

This source goes along with much of what I have been able to learn about my family through researching my family tree. My family to this day still goes to a Presbyterian church, and my father has always taught me the importance of self-reliance, which is now a value I myself hold. The information provided by this source helps me to paint a better picture of my family history narrative because is elaborates on the culture and values of Scotch-Irish immigrants in America.

Mike McClintock, A Man of Principles

by Roger Clawson

I was able to recover a newspaper article from my dad’s personal family records. It was written in light of the retirement of my grandfather, Myron “Mike” McClintock from public office in Yellowstone County, Montana. After he fought in World War II, he held the title of County Commissioner for three consecutive terms (18 years) before retiring.

Mike McClintock County Commissioner Campaign Poster

The article reflects on some of the work that my grandfather did while he was in office, as well as how he was as a person. My grandpa was apparently not afraid to speak his mind, and he was very straight forward and set on what he thought was right. He did not want to spend more taxpayer money than was necessary, and he was the main reason the county was able to construct a recreational facility called Metra. The article contains numerous quotes from my grandfather and from people talking about him and his work.

This article is important for telling my history because it paints a real picture of what my grandfather was like as a person and how this relates to his Scots-Irish heritage. He did not take any crap from anyone. He was tough and straight forward just like his ancestors before him.

The article is pictured below:

Captain Myron Paul Gray, United States Navy

Military Records Bio Information

The biographical information on Mike Gray from official military records contains essentially a summary of my dad’s first cousin’s military career. It discusses where he went to school and his degree, what type of military training he received, and what submarines he served on.

“Uncle Mike”, as my dad calls him, has had a very long and distinguished military career. He worked in the military his entire life after college. The subs that he served on were some of the most high-tech powerful, and badass vessels to ever roam the seven seas, and he was in charge of them.

The information contained in this source is important for my project because it clearly lays out the military career of Uncle Mike, who is the person in my family I have chosen to interview. Uncle Mike’s military career is a great example of the kind of life people of Scots-Irish descent tend to have. He a respected and military man who served his country with honor, and he deserves to be recognized for it.

The bio is pictured below:

Lawrenceville Naval Officer Commands newest Submarine

By John Johnson

This news paper article uncovered from my family’s own records announces the deployment of the USS Georgia Submarine while also talking about its captain, my second cousin, Mike Gray. The writer, John Johnson takes quotes from Mike and tries to give the audience a feel for what Mike’s life was like leading up to and during this important event. The submarine that Mike would captain was the most state-of-the-art sub in the U.S. fleet to date. It was capable of running indefinitely without ever refueling and carried 24 Trident missiles. The years of education and training that Mike received in order to be in charge of such a machine were extensive and difficult, but that’s nothing compared to the job of captaining the sub itself, which Mike compared to running a non-profit organization. However, for Mike the hardest part of his job was having to be away from his wife and kids for long such long periods of time.

Mike Gray holding Mason McClintock (me)

Not everyone can say that their close relative was the captain of a nuclear submarine with ballistic missile capabilities, but I can. Mike’s life and his military career are worth remembering not only because they a represent significant achievement in my family, but because they represent a meaningful contribution to this country. This article outlines just how awesome and unique Mike’s military career was. He truly is an American hero, and I am proud to be able to say he’s part of my family.

Mike is the epitome of what it means to be Scotch-Irish. Mike’s life story is an important part of my family history because it serves as an example for many of the things my family has valued for generations. He had a successful military career, he is a self-made man, and he is a family man. This article not only does his life and military career justice, but also portrays him as an example of how the Scotch-Irish heritage and values have manifested in my family.

The article is pictured below:

Myron McClintock Resumé

My grandfather, Myron McClintock’s resumé from 1976 contains a great deal of relevant information about his life and work experience. He had a number of jobs, including owning a Realtor and Insurance company, before he began his military service in 1941, when he joined the United States Army. The resumé also outlines his military career. He originally enlisted in the 32nd infantry division where he attained the rank of sergeant, and by the time he was relieved of duty in 1945 he had achieved the rank of captain. Also contained in this resumé is information about my grandfather’s political career, during which he was State Treasurer of the Republican National Senatorial Candidate, served on the board of County Commissioners for Yellowstone County, Montana, as well as served as chairman of the board for 7 years.

Early TV appearance of Myron E. at the beginning of his political career. (second from the right)

Myron McClintock had a very productive and meaningful life in which he accomplished a great deal in many different areas. No matter what area he was working in, he seemed to always excel at whatever he was doing, and this caused him to come into many positions of leadership throughout his life.

The accomplishments of my grandfather that are shown on this resumé show that he lived his life as a true son of the Scotch-Irish tradition. This resumé shows that he was even part of the Scottish Rite Bodies in Billings Montana, which shows that even during his life he was aware of the value and importance of his Scotch-Irish heritage. His service in the military, along with the way he lived his life, make him prime example for how Scotch-Irish values and lifestyle have manifested themselves in my family.

Born Fighting: How The Scots-Irish Shaped America

Born Fighting: How The Scotch-Irish Shaped America is one of those books where the title real speaks for itself. This book tells the complete tail of the Scotch-Irish history from the very beginning, starting with their conflicts with the English and then the Irish, through their colonization of America, to present day. It dives into to how Scotch-Irish history, and especially the constant fighting involved in it, shaped the Scotch-Irish to become self-sufficient fighters that played a key role in shaping the United States into the country it is today. He mentions famous American military and political leaders of Scotch-Irish heritage to support his claims.

“Free Spirits.” American Renaissance, 1 July 2018, www.amren.com/news/2016/12/free-spirits-james-webb-born-fighting/.

This book sheds light on the significance of the Scots-Irish as a people, especially in the shaping of the United States. Many of the values that have shaped the U.S. to become such great nation come from the Scots-Irish and have been portrayed by many famous and unknown Scots-Irish throughout the history of this country. It is important to realize the positive effect that these values have had in shaping our nation into what it is today.

The culture and mindset passed down in my family is almost too perfectly reflected in this book. My family not only has a history of great military service, but we also preach the same values that Webb discusses in his book as being Scotch-Irish. The ideas of distrust in the government, self-reliance, stubbornness, and fighting for what’s right are things that I have grown up learning and believe even today, and this is thanks in part to my Scots-Irish heritage.

McLintock!

“McLintock! [DVD] [1963].” Best Buy, www.bestbuy.com/site/mclintock-dvd-1963/28846122.p?skuId=28846122.

McLintock! is a 1960’s western classic starring John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara. John Wayne plays George Washington (G.W.) McLintock, a cattle baron that owns pretty much the entire town in which he lives. He is well liked by the community because of his fairness and his good character, but he also stubborn and hard. The story kicks in when G.W.’s estranged wife, Katherine (played by Maureen O’Hara) returns from the northeast to claim custody of their 17-year-old daughter who has just finished college and is coming home. She wants their daughter to come live with her in the northeast, while G.W. wants her to live with him. As they argue and fight over their daughter, the couple eventually comes to fall in love once again and work things out.

The film gives the perfect picture of what it means to be a self-made man in the form of John Wayne’s character, G.W. His hard, stubborn nature, along with the way that he lives on his own ranch that he built up himself, strongly reflects the Scots-Irish American values which have been recorded in history and in my own family. The name, McLintock is a spelling variation of my last name, McClintock, and they are both Scots-Irish. George Washington (G.W.) McClintock was even the name of my first Ancestor to make a life for himself in America. He too had is own farm and was well-respected in his community. This all seems to me more than just a coincidence. This movie perfectly illustrates what it is, and always has been, to be Scotch-Irish in America, and it paints a picture of what life may have been like for my ancestors in America.

Letter from General Patton to Myron McClintock

“r/GetMotivated — [Image] Nice Quote from General Patton.” Reddit, www.reddit.com/r/GetMotivated/comments/355vo5/image_nice_quote_from_general_patton/.

This official commendation letter, sent from Commanding Lieutenant General Patton of the United States Army, to my grandfather, Myron(Mike) E. McClintock, commends him for the excellent job my grandfather and his division did in securing the city of Metz. Despite severe weather, the flooding of the Moselle River, and terrain favorable to the enemy, my grandfather was able to lead an assault on the city and defeat the Germans. The assault and defeat of German forces in this manner was something that had previously never been accomplished in the history of the United States Army, and because of this my grandfather received high commendation from his superiors in this letter.

Serving in the military is something to be commended in and of itself, but there are many who have served in the military and never had to risk their life or perform under pressure. This letter of commendation shows that not only did my grandfather serve his country, but he did a damn good job of it. He was in charge of the tip of the spear of the U.S. Army, and he risked his life to help ensure that America would emerge victorious during World War II.

Military service is an important part of my family as well as the Scotch-Irish tradition. Scotch-Irish have been fighting in wars for generations, and my grandpa was no exception to this. This document shows that he was a truly competent leader on the battlefield, which is something that as a man of Scotch-Irish descendants he should have been proud of. His military success truly is an example of what it means to be a McClintock and to be part of the Scotch-Irish line, and I am proud to be able to say he was my grandfather.

The letter is pictured below:

WWII Letters From The Front Lines

Myron E. McClintock in full combat gear during World War II

During WWII, my grandfather, Myron McClintock wrote a series of letters home in which he talked about what was happening around him on the front lines. My dad has been able to hold on to some of these letters, and they serve as a great way to see some of what Myron was thinking about while he was at war. My dad was able to send me typed transcriptions of the handwritten letters and pictures of a letter that Myron typed using a typewriter. In one of his letters, Myron goes into detail about how him and his men got pinned down and he thought he was going to get shot.

The letters he wrote give a unique and personal insight into the mind of a soldier on the front lines. Myron was able to really paint a picture of what Germany was like during the war as well as what it felt like to be a soldier on the front lines of a battle. Reading a letter like this from anyone would be interesting because of the way they transport the reader, and the fact it was my own grandfather who wrote these letters makes them even more incredible.

The military career of my grandfather, Myron is a pivotal part of my family history and how it reflects Scotch-Irish heritage and values, and these letters provide a unique and personal look into the my grandfather’s mind during World War II. These letters draw the reader closer to Myron, and allow them to feel as if they almost new him. Reading these letters made me realize that Myron was just a normal person like me, and I just as easily could have been forced to go to war like him and risk my life. Above all these letters made me feel grateful of the life that I get to live, and thankful that Myron did his job well and made it out alive.

The letters are shown here below:

Dear Mae & Claire & Jack:

It is nighttime here on the Western Front. It is a clear cold night with a bright shiny moon in the sky. Our present drive has carried us to a medium sized town in Germany. The houses are generally intact in the section where we are located. The homes are two and three story stucco buildings. The streets are dead and blocked out. The only movement is an occasional Jeep of wire repairmen. You don’t move without a weapon in your hand and a grenade in your pocket up and down the street you will find the doughboys on guard and you will be shot when challenged if you don’t immediately respond with the correct password. The buildings tremble with the rumble of artillery and shells bursting. Our artillery is to our read and makes the most noise. In the center of the town and buildings has been set afire by a white phosphorus shell and there is a weird glow in the sky. German patrols are active and the night shift must always be alert. An occasional burst of small arms and automatic weapons fire can be plainly heard not far from here which denotes a little skirmish is taking place. Somewhat to our left heavy incoming artillery can now be heard. An ambulance jogs by with its cargo [sic] of wounded. Ambulance’s aren’t used for the dead because they are not able to be helped now. Watching, waiting always tense. Getting ready for the attack at dawn or digging to hold todays gains. That is a picture of war 1944 style on the Western front. Kill or be killed is a grim terrible business. Now a time burst overhead and the guard scurries for cover waiting for the whrr that means another box car dropping out of the night. The New Year will be here soon. The least we have hope.

Mike

Left to right: Emma McClintock, Myron(Mike) McClintock, Earl McClintock

Note: This Next letter was written to Earl and Emma (pictured above)

Dear Folks:

Just a line to let you know that we are safely in France. Made the crossing of the channel ok. It was an interesting trip over on a British boat. There are signs of war all around us here. The country here is green and looks a lot like Louisiana. The hardest fighting of the war took place here. After we landed and started up the back there was a sign which said “Over this path has passed the Price of America’s Armed Forces.” It makes quite a lump to come in one’s throat when you know that only recently so many of our boys fought and died to hold the very ground you are walking on. The people are quite friendly and I am brushing up on my French language now.

When we will actually get up to the front line is hard to say. Right now it is just like a Louisiana ???.

Love

Myron

--

--