Alumni Profiles: Kyle Empringham ‘11

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
3 min readNov 5, 2018
Photo of Kyle Empringham ‘11

After graduating McMaster University with a Biology degree from the Faculty of Science, Kyle Empringham ’11 went on to complete a Master’s degree in Resource Management at Simon Fraser University in BC. He is now a Senior Professional Services Manager at Thoughtexchange and the Co-Founder of The Starfish Canada, a non-profit that celebrates great work done by youth in the environmental sector, and includes Canada’s Top 25 Environmentalists Under 25 program which recognizes and rewards young Canadian leaders creating positive environmental change in their local communities. In his spare time, he likes to swim, run and bike — but has yet to attempt a triathlon.

1. WHY DID YOU CHOOSE TO COME TO MCMASTER?

I chose McMaster because I love the sciences. I wanted to go somewhere with a great reputation in the sciences that would push me to be the best I can be.

2. WHAT ARE SOME OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF YOUR CAREER?

I worked for the David Suzuki Foundation for three years, working to figure out how to best engage others in science-based decision-making. I talked with many people about sustainable seafood, healthy oceans, and many other topics that need conversations with the public to help solve the problem.

While at McMaster, I also started The Starfish Canada, a non-profit that empowers young people in environmental matters. I’m proud to say we’ve grown from a biology class project to hiring people and working coast to coast to celebrate the amazing project young people have accomplished.

Since then, I’ve taken my passion for evidence-based decision making and looked towards local politics, where I was the campaign manager for a 19-year-old that successfully ran for Saanich City Council. His name is Ned Taylor — look him up, he’s a fantastic man and I’m excited for his emerging career in politics.

3. WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR GREATEST CHALLENGE?

I think that in a modern society where truths are blurred, my biggest challenge has been to understand how to uphold what we know as facts and ensure those are captured and accounted for. It’s easy to be persuaded by captivating arguments that could, in reality, have little substance or truth.

4. WHAT WOULD YOU LIKE TO BE REMEMBERED OR KNOWN FOR?

I hope that I’m known for being a community convenor that understands the importance of evidence when making decisions. My undergraduate degree taught me how important it is to understand complexities and nuances in systems before anything else, and I hope that I can bring that approach to different facets of life.

5. WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO CURRENT STUDENTS?

Get involved with what McMaster can offer you. My time at Mac was some of the best years of my life because of the friendships I made and because of the time I put into learning things outside of the classroom. Your time at university will be over before you know it, so make the most of it while it lasts!

--

--