Life After Mac: Real Stories of alumni finding their way—Amanda

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2024

I graduated from McMaster in 2022 with a Master’s of Science in Physiotherapy. I chose the McMaster program because I was intrigued by the problem-based and self-directed learning approach. I was first introduced to this unique learning style when I was a Teaching Assistant at Simon Fraser University. I had the pleasure of working alongside a McMaster PT alumnus to assist with Kinesiology course curriculum development to include problem-based learning. In that role, I saw great value in the problem-based learning approach for increasing student motivation and engagement. I continued to appreciate this style of learning when I was a student in the MScPT program.

My time at McMaster was a particularly eventful and memorable experience due to the pandemic. Living far away from my home in BC, my new Ontario friends quickly became like family. The pandemic circumstances were an additional obstacle to what was already a demanding program. However, these circumstances instilled flexibility and resiliency in times of uncertainty and turmoil. The support and mentorship from the PT program faculty and staff, especially during these times, were appreciated beyond what words can say.

Being a BC gal, the Ontario weather was also an adjustment; however, I rapidly embraced the many “gems” that Hamilton has to offer. Additionally, winter time exceeded my expectations! I will cherish fond memories of skating on Lake Ontario, exploring the many trails in Cootes Paradise, seeking out waterfalls, running alongside the Hamilton Harbour, and enjoying the various Westdale restaurants and cafés. The opportunity to spend part of one summer in Thunder Bay for a clinical placement was an amazing opportunity to learn more about healthcare challenges in rural communities, while also embracing hiking and camping! Reflecting back on my journey to become a PT, I am beyond thankful for the endless support from my family and friends over the years. Words cannot express the extent of my gratitude for the emotional and financial support, frequent phone/video calls, and willingness to act as my patient “models” on whom I practiced clinical skills. It really does take a village!

Following completion of the PT program, I moved back home to BC to start my career. Currently, I am enjoying the variety of work in both private practice as well as acute care. In addition to clinical practice, I also mentor and supervise students, volunteer with community sports teams, and serve on the executive committee for the BC Section of the Orthopaedic Division of the Canadian Physiotherapy Association. A few personal achievements since my graduation include travelling to Europe twice, walking the legendary Camino de Santiago, and completing my first half marathon!

My advice to others is that it is quite alright not to have everything perfectly figured out. Plans can change, and things do not always happen how we would like them to. However, the bumps along the road, the curveballs, and the altered plans can make the journey that much more fulfilling. When I look back on my time at McMaster I reflect fondly on my experience, and my journey to become a PT was both exciting and rewarding. I am proud to be a McMaster PT alumnus!

Amanda Zacharuk

MSc Physiotherapy ‘22

Instagram

Facebook

LinkedIn

The Office of Alumni Engagement will be featuring recent grad’s career stories to show career paths are anything but linear. If you graduated in the last 10 years and are interested, share your story.

If you are looking to get started on your own journey, take advantage of the resources available to recent graduates through our partnership with the Student Success Centre.

--

--