Life After Mac: Real stories of alumni finding their way — Jaskiran

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
5 min readSep 19, 2019

Seek out experiences beyond your job and academic pursuits that broaden your understanding of what you know about yourself and the world. Let this educate how you spend your time and effort.

This is a driving force behind many choices I make in my life. The community organizations I am involved with have fostered a deeper understanding of how to engage in meaningful learning experiences beyond my career. They have helped me gain perspective on issues I am passionate about and presented valuable work opportunities. My experience as the McMaster Student Union’s Advocacy Coordinator led to an opportunity to work for McMaster University’s Public Affairs team. While in this role, I was able to reference my previous work on higher education campaigns and my personal interest in politics.

Fast forward to today, I work as a consultant at Counsel Public Affairs, a public affairs agency that specializes in government relations, strategic communications, and integrated campaigns.

First-year me, would likely be puzzled if someone had told her where she would be today. I also believe she would have been grateful for the lessons to come her way.

Be open to detours — they can pave the way for new opportunities and valuable connections.

Similar to many Political Science students, my original plan was to attend Law School. During my undergrad, I took firm steps towards pursuing this goal but never truly felt passionate about the choices I was making. Ironically, I was the Vice-President of McMaster’s Pre-Law Society when I decided to explore other career paths. I spent a lot of time fixating on the uncertainty of my future until I realized that while plans and expectations are important, I did not have to be bounded by them. Instead, I decided to keep an open mindset, which allowed me to push through doors that would have otherwise stayed shut.

After completing my MA in Political Science, I applied for the Ontario Legislature Internship Programme (OLIP) at the Legislative Assembly of Ontario. OLIP was a life-changing experience that encouraged me to look at policy issues and Canadian politics from various perspectives. Through OLIP, I gained first-hand experience with government, legislative and political processes via placements in the offices of government and opposition MPPs. My cohort and I also had the opportunity to travel across Canada and England for comparative study tours.

Create opportunities that nurture your passion and values while aligning yourself with people that inspire and support your goals.

Growing up, I did not see women who looked like me in leadership positions, especially in the world of politics. This is one of the reasons I am actively involved with initiatives focused on advancing gender equality and empowering women through mentorship, personal development and networking. I have had the privilege to work alongside some talented women, who are not only amazing leaders in their respective fields but are making positive change within their communities. They have become cherished mentors who have taught me the significance of creating a spot for myself at the table.

I recently appeared on CBC News Network to speak about the upcoming Canadian Federal Election and the lack of diverse media representation. As it was my first time on national live television, I was understandably very nervous. My first instinct was to politely decline the invitation because I did not believe I had enough experience. I am very grateful for the people around me that challenged my thinking and encouraged me with words of support. It is important to surround yourself with people who know what you deserve and empower you to pursue it.

While I am fortunate to have great mentors in my life, mentors do not always arrive knocking on your door. Take the time to reach out, and make connections beyond your comfort zone. They will be a sounding board for your ideas, goals, and curiosity.

Celebrate your successes.

Unfortunately, I can recall several times where I have been quick to downplay my professional accomplishments. This year, I made a conscious decision to spend more time celebrating my successes. I like lists — so I started to map out what I have recently accomplished, from small wins to defining moments. This made me realize that the key to celebrating successes is to recognize that achievement comes in many forms. Rather than always working towards someone else’s definition, I now view success as the alignment between who I am, and where I choose to be.

Marauders, do not be disheartened if your path to a career is not as linear and clear as you thought it would be in first year. Allow yourself to be surprised by what you discover when taking the detours, you least expected to take…you may love where they lead you.

In closing, I’d like to share some words I had the opportunity to express to my graduating class in 2015 as Valedictorian. Almost 5 years later, I believe they hold the same value.

“…Regardless of what your individual realities and futures hold, leave here today confident in the knowledge you’ve gained, the skills you’ve honed, and the potential that your experience at McMaster has unlocked. If there is something, we have learned through our time here, it is that perseverance and dedication can take us a long way.”

Jaskiran Shoker

MA Political Science ‘17

Honours B.A. Political Science ‘15

Twitter: @jshokerr

The McMaster Alumni Association will be featuring recent grad’s career stories to show career paths are anything but linear. If you graduated in the last 10 years and are interested in sharing yours, submit your story by clicking here.

If you are looking to get started on your own journey, take advantage of the resources available to recent graduates through our partnership with the Student Success Centre.

--

--