Life After Mac: Real stories of alumni finding their way — Melissa

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
3 min readSep 6, 2022

Transitions are never easy. So for me, leaving the comfort of campus for the “real world” felt a little daunting and intimidating, especially as a first-generation university student like myself. Hearing some of my peers say things like, “What are you going to do with and English and Women’s Studies degree?” didn’t make things much easier.

The good news was that I was fairly confident and sure of what I wanted to do after I graduated. I knew I wanted to work in the charitable or non-profit sector, taking the things I’d learned at Mac and applying them to make a positive impact.

As I entered my fourth and final year of undergrad at McMaster, I quickly realized that I should take a proactive approach and prepare for Life After Mac sooner rather than later.

For me, this meant making my community a priority. I knew volunteering was not only the right thing to do, but the necessary thing to do if I wanted to be taken seriously post-grad as I searched for employment in the non-profit sector. I remember scouring the internet for hours, looking for a volunteer opportunity that aligned with my values. I finally came across a role supporting social workers who provided harm deduction services to women involved in the sex trade. I volunteered at the drop-in centre on a weekly basis, providing resources and an empathetic ear. This was a pivotal experience for me, demonstrating the power of altruism.

In my final year, I also decided to use my reading week as an opportunity to round out my resume. The Student Success Centre suggested a one-week course offered abroad in Berlin, Germany. The course focused on cultural diplomacy, where students explored strategies for strengthening intercultural relations and promoting global peace. It was my first trip overseas, and the first time I had ever traveled solo. Not only did I learn a lot, but I built up a lot of confidence along the way — making new friends and experiencing a new culture.

Soon after graduating, I moved to Geneva, Switzerland to work for a non-profit migration organization for a year. I attended meetings at the United Nations and provided support to our regional offices scattered across the world from the organization’s headquarters. I dipped my toes in fundraising and communications, building knowledge and experience in the philanthropy sector. Afterwards, I returned back to Canada and began my Master of Arts degree at the University of Toronto, majoring in Political Science with a focus in international development.

From there, I went on the volunteer and work for a myriad of non-profits and charities across Canada. I’ve had the fortunate opportunity of funding, planning, and building awareness for several projects and programs relating to international development, emergency response, migration, youth empowerment, local health care, affordable housing, and most recently, sustainability.

Currently, I work for QUEST Canada, a non-profit that supports Canadian communities on their pathway to net-zero. As the Senior Lead of Communications, I oversee the development, management and delivery of the organization’s marketing and communications strategy.

As I reflect on the last decade of my life, it’s obvious to me that my “success” (in quotation marks, because success looks different for everyone) can be attributed predominantly to my resiliency, passion for creating a positive impact, and uninhibited spirit for change. Follow your heart to unearth your strength, hold on to whatever brings your life meaning, and remember that most things won’t turn out as planned (but it never hurts to try and be a bit prepared).

Melissa Schweyer ‘09

Double major in English and Women’s Studies (now known as Gender and Social Justice)

Twitter | LinkedIn

The Office of Alumni Engagement will be featuring recent grad’s career stories to show career paths are anything but linear. If you graduated in the last 10 years and are interested, share your story.

If you are looking to get started on your own journey, take advantage of the resources available to recent graduates through our partnership with the Student Success Centre.

--

--