Life After Mac: Real stories of alumni finding their way — Mike

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2022

I remember as early as elementary school being in love with video games and sports. My dad always had the latest game systems for us to play with. We played games like Yars’ Revenge, Hide & Seek, on the Atari 2600 (I still remember the single button joystick and paddle), and Impossible Mission and Pitfall on the Commodore 64. I learned how to load programs, copy 5 ¼” floppy disks, and program simple games using magazines my dad would order. I ended up being the only student in elementary school who was allowed to use the “class computer” unassisted because I knew how to turn it on all by myself and do things with it. By the time I reached high school I was enjoying everything math, science, music, and programming. I joined computer and science clubs and learned how to turn songs into programs that I played on a bunch of lab computers before sounds cards could play multiple notes at a time.

I enjoyed dabbling in the new world of computing realizing it was fun and would eventually be something that would change the world. The trouble was, I didn’t know what that something would be. I remember my dad telling me that education opens doors for you. As long as you walk through it, great things will happen. It only seemed natural that I joined the Computer Science program at McMaster University.

By the time I finished my third year, the Computer Science program became closely affiliated with the Engineering department and suddenly one of those doors stood right in front of me with the word “internship” written on top of it. I signed up and one company caught my eye as they developed audio processors for hearing aids. That company was Gennum Corporation. I excitedly accepted an on campus group interview in the John Hopkins Engineering building. Part way through the session, a test was handed around to check our knowledge of electrical system design. My only problem was that that wasn’t my area of focus. After watching the other candidates feverishly write their answers, I decided to take a chance. I put up my hand and said “I don’t know how to answer these questions”. Some people like to quote Wayne Gretzky’s famous line “you miss 100% of the shots you don’t take”. Little did I know but that little admission would be the second most important shot I would take in my life behind asking my wife to marry me! The company representative took me outside where I told him about my passion for programming as well as musical composition & recording and I ended that day with an invitation to the company office where it turned out they were starting a software development team and some of the skills I learned in a recent NSERC summer program were skills they were looking for. Sometimes it pays to take a chance as you never know what opportunity it will uncover! You may be good at what you do but it is also good to be lucky and have good timing.

Since then, I have spent the past 20 years in the semiconductor industry with a focus on medical devices that improve people’s lives. That is a real good feeling each and every day. I have learned so much within and outside my field of study in my professional career. I went back to McMaster and earned my MBA part time to broaden my awareness in areas I was less familiar and comfortable. At the time, it felt like it would take forever as I knew I was signing myself up to four years of studies — two courses in the fall, two courses in the winter, one in the summer, rinse & repeat four times. I often think of those times and the words of Randy Pausch “brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something”. That gives me solace and enhances my resolve when I am faced with adversity. Now, those skills help me solve technical problems, lead others, and make business decisions.

What is important is knowing that learning is a lifelong journey. It will lead you to new doors but do take a chance and open them. In the words of Master Yoda “do or do not, there is no try!”

Mike Picheca

Hons BSc 2002

MBA 2009

LinkedIn

--

--