Life After Mac: Real Stories of alumni finding their way — Pedram

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2024

Transitioning from an engineering background to a multifaceted career in marketing and business administration, and finally into a Master of Engineering and Public Policy at McMaster University, my journey has been anything but linear. My background reflects a mix of technical expertise and a passion for sustainability and public policy, especially in the realm of electricity and energy systems.

Starting with a solid foundation in engineering, it took me some time to develop the necessary communication and analytical skills to comprehend the value of audience engagement. Pursuing my Master’s at Mac was the biggest leap from my comfort zone, and the accomplishment was not without its challenges; a new culture, a new language, a new life, and of course monetary issues that all international students may face. But the accomplishment in the following years is worth trying it.

My time at McMaster was transformative, allowing me to learn the Canadian industries and regulations, meet with potential leaders and recruiters, participate in numerous free events, work on a couple of projects, and gradually adapt myself to the new world I stepped into.

One of the highlights of my occupation was working on various projects for the City of Hamilton. These opportunities allowed me to apply both my engineering skills and my newfound policy knowledge to real-world problems, focusing on sustainable solutions for the community. I believe my current position owes much to this engagement.

The key piece of advice I’d share is to embrace change and be open to exploring new fields. Each opportunity was a step towards finding my true passion, though it was difficult. Although uneasy, my achievements along the way have been invaluable, making me a more versatile and impactful professional.

In summary, don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone and pursue your interests, even if they lead you down an unconventional path. If you make your decision wisely, the opportunity presents itself eventually. The beauty of this journey takes place when the intersections of different fields happen with the most exciting and meaningful outcomes.

Pedram Mazaheri

Master of Engineering and Public Policy ‘20

LinkedIn

The Office of Alumni Engagement will be featuring recent grad’s career stories to show career paths are anything but linear. If you graduated in the last 10 years and are interested, share your story.

If you are looking to get started on your own journey, take advantage of the resources available to recent graduates through our partnership with the Student Success Centre.

--

--