Life After Mac: Real Stories of Alumni Finding their Way- Santina

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2019

“How did you go from Cognitive Science of Language graduate to planning national fundraisers for Justin Trudeau?”

This is a question I find myself reflecting on and answering time and time again.

With my mind set on becoming a Speech Language Pathologist, McMaster was 1 of 3 universities in Ontario that offered a specialized undergraduate preparation program in this field. Being that the university was also ranked top 3 in Canada, choosing McMaster was a no brainer for me.

My “no brainer” decision came with challenges of its own- not knowing anyone prior to my first day, committing years of study to Linguistics; a field not thoroughly explored in high school education and the scary truth of wondering ‘what if I don’t enjoy what I study’. That scary truth became a reality in my 3rd year and as the girl who was consistently taught to have a back-up plan, this was the only case that I found myself without one.

In the summer before my final year, I landed a job working in the Conference and Event Services (CES) unit within the Housing and Conference Services department at Mac. I found myself excited for what had laid ahead after my first interview with CES, I credit that to the radiating positivity, eloquent speech and enthusiasm from my manager, Laurie Ham.

That summer flew by, as I assisted in the conference planning for clients such as the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Ministry of Attorney General, and Ride to Conquer Cancer to name a few.

During my final year of undergrad, I pondered the idea of switching career paths. However, the societal pressures of pursuing a career in your field of study makes it frightening to challenge the societal expectation. Not to mention accepting the judgement that comes along with making the switch.

Following my fourth year, I continued to work part-time in the CES department and resumed my full-time summer position. This experience allowed me to discover my strengths, weaknesses and passions, outside the classroom. Not only did I learn the importance of celebrating the little victories but also the unique values each individual can bring to create a strong, supportive team. Under Laurie’s leadership, I gained confidence in building client relationships, overcoming adversity and going that extra mile to ensure every conference is a success. It is where I first learned to view each day as a new adventure and even today, the unpredictability of what challenges may arise fuels a part of me that is ready for whatever the future may hold.

My time in the Conference and Event Services department was truly an enriching experience.

Although I knew my chapter at McMaster had to eventually come to an end, what I didn’t know was how valuable the connections I made would later become. Along with the skills and knowledge I acquired, it would be the solid foundation for my career in event management. From working in a startup coordinating conferences in the USA to now planning national fundraisers for the leader of the Liberal Party and current Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau- I owe my successes to those that keep me grounded and inspire me to be the best version of myself.

So Marauders, don’t be afraid to challenge the societal norms and try something new. It may very well be the start to your greatest adventure.

Santina Arvandi, Cognitive Science of Language ‘17

The McMaster Alumni Association, over the course of the next year, will be featuring one grad’s career story each week. If you graduated in the last 10 years and are interested in sharing yours, please email Nada at elnaien@mcmaster.ca.

If you are looking to get started on your own journey check out resources available to recent graduates through the Student Success Centre.

--

--