Life After Mac: Real Stories of Alumni Finding their way- Serena

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
4 min readMay 9, 2019

I chose McMaster University to pursue an undergraduate degree in Social Work. After choosing my courses, I decided to take “Introduction to Political Science” with Dr. Todd Alway. I was apprehensive, as I thought politics was boring and stuffy; however, I knew from the moment I attended my first class that I was meant to be there. If you’ve ever met Dr. Alway, it’s apparent that he has a passion for politics, teaching, and his students.

Throughout my time at Mac, I explored my interests through a wide variety of courses. I always found myself returning to Political Science and I finally decided to complete my undergraduate degree in Political Science with a minor in Globalization. I was able to study International Relations, Public Policy, and Political Economy along with other areas of political specialization. My friends and I struggled with what path to embark on following graduation and the idea of law school was in almost everyone’s mind. Whenever I told people I was studying Political Science, I was normally faced with: “So you want to be a lawyer?” or, my personal favourite, “Are you going to be the next Prime Minister?” As much as I was (and still am) passionate about politics, I still wasn’t certain how to translate that into a career after McMaster.

Wondering what I was going to do after my undergrad was always in the back of my mind until I graduated. The question turned into, “What’s next?” I think what frightened me most was that I didn’t have the answer, and I always have an answer. If you know me personally, you know that I love to be organized and I love to plan. Yet, I didn’t have a plan for my life after McMaster. I toyed with the idea of pursuing my Masters, going to law school, or just taking a fifth year. As I couldn’t decide, I took the year off following graduation to work which gave me more clarity than I thought possible.

I feel that taking the year off is often looked down upon because most people don’t go back to school once they get comfortable in their new pursuits. I was determined to return to school and specialize in an area that gave me a sense of fulfillment.

Currently, I am enrolled at Niagara College in the Post Graduate Public Relations program. I had the amazing opportunity to intern with Enterprise Canada, a public, digital, and government relations firm. I will be graduating in June 2019, and I don’t feel uneasy about my life after graduation.

If I could give advice to first-year Serena, I would tell her to say “yes” to new opportunities, live in the moment, and be kind to yourself. Being apprehensive in a new situation can lead to a better understanding of yourself. While it’s important to stay true to who you are, stepping outside of your comfort zone can help you reach your full potential.

I thought four years would never come to an end, but time flew by. Stressing about the unknown can cause unnecessary negative thoughts and anxieties. University is supposed to be a time of discovery, academically and emotionally. Reminding yourself that it’s okay to not have a plan or your life mapped out during your early twenties is extremely important.

Surrounding yourself with people that support and love you can make the fear of the unknown less daunting. The professors and friends I met at McMaster allowed me to learn about myself, explore my interests, and accept that everything doesn’t always go according to plan and that’s okay.

Serena Stewart, Honours B.A. Political Science Minor in Globalization ‘17

The McMaster Alumni Association, over the course of the next year, will be featuring one grad’s career story each week. If you graduated in the last 10 years and are interested in sharing yours, please email Nada at elnaien@mcmaster.ca.

If you are looking to get started on your own journey check out resourcesavailable to recent graduates through the Student Success Centre.

--

--