Life After Mac: Real stories of alumni finding their way — Stephanie

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
4 min readJul 18, 2019

At age 7, I had completed a Community Helpers project about dentists, which made me not only appreciate my enjoyable visits to the dentist, but inspire me to become one. Fast-forward a couple of years, and teenage Stephanie was teased for the way she looked; my teeth were crooked, I had an open bite, and had difficulty eating. After receiving complex surgical treatment in conjunction with my braces, my dream evolved to one in orthodontics. I was impressed with how my life transformed; eating was easier, and I gained the self-confidence I lacked. My fascination with the life changing effects of orthodontic treatment had me realize that I could have an impact on transforming the lives of others.

Without dentists or doctors in my family, I was unsure about my academic path. The requirement for a science degree led me to McMaster where I enrolled in the Life Sciences program. In my first year, I was so focused on spending my time studying to attain the best grades possible, that I didn’t participate in many extracurricular activities. That year, I almost failed chemistry, and had a GPA that was not competitive for dental school admission. I was convinced that Life Sciences was not the right choice for me and often wondered if I should have applied to others. I knew I had to change something.

My attempt to switch to the Kinesiology program was unsuccessful. I ultimately decided to continue with Life Sciences and give it my best, but somethings did change. I decided to involve myself in various extracurricular activities. I became a Science representative during Welcome week, a member of Canadian Association for Girls in Science, the Pre-Dental club, and the Dance club. My involvement reshaped my study habits and introduced me to so many peers who really made Mac feel like home. Despite being on the Dean’s List for three consecutive years, I didn’t graduate with honours, and unfortunately didn’t land any dental school interviews in Canada. I began to think that 7-year-old Steph’s dreams may not come true. As this was a fate I was unwilling to accept, I felt again that I had to change something.

Initially, my plan was to attend a Canadian dental school to be close to friends and family. Despite my hesitance to leave Canada, I took a chance and applied to programs in the US and received multiple admissions, accepting an offer from NYU College of Dentistry. There, I had a very well-rounded experience from research, to extracurriculars, to leadership conferences and outreach opportunities, including a mission trip to Nicaragua. This wasn’t to say there were no tribulations. I had to juggle clinical rotations, endless procedural requirements, study for multiple board exams, and even lost count of the number of competencies and exams (who knew four finals in one day was a thing!?). I graduated top of my class, with graduation awards and was inducted into the OKU National Dental Honor Society. In my final year of dental school, I matched into an orthodontic residency at the University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine.

I am in my last year of my residency, and will complete my Master’s Degree and Certificate in the specialty of Orthodontics before my return to Canada. The work habits and time management skills that I have gained and practiced at Mac and NYU have definitely prepared me for all that’s ahead. My story is one of perseverance and determination. If there is a goal you are after, there is always a path to take to get there. Don’t hesitate to re-evaluate a plan and consider paths that seem intimidating… anything is possible!

Stephanie Colaiacovo ‘12

BSc. Life Sciences

Stephanie is a contributor to a dental blog entitled “The Dental Pen”.

The McMaster Alumni Association will be featuring recent grad’s career stories to show career paths are anything but linear. If you graduated in the last 10 years and are interested in sharing yours, submit your story by clicking here.

If you are looking to get started on your own journey, take advantage of the resources available to recent graduates through our partnership with the Student Success Centre.

--

--