Life After Mac: Real stories of alumni finding their way — Taylor

McMaster Alumni
McMaster Alumni
Published in
3 min readAug 13, 2020

You always think that your career will be a straight line to success, but mine has been like a curvy, jagged line that makes pit-stops in locations that I’d never previously imagined.

It’d be easy to say my career path started the day I graduated in 2015, but really, my career journey started the day that I took my first class at DeGroote, where after a little trial and error, I took a special interest in marketing and strategic management. The four years that I was at DeGroote allowed me to try out different things, change my mind once or twice, and grow as a person — both personally and professionally. Thanks to my classes, chats with some excellent professors, and my involvement in extra-curricular activities, I was able to learn what I liked and disliked, and what I was inherently good at.

Shortly after graduation and a lot of networking, I was able to land a position as an Assistant Product Manager in a global consumer packaged goods organization in the GTA. This role was everything and nothing like I thought it was going to be, but I loved it and I learned so much from it. After some time, I was promoted and eventually ended up as a Product Manager, where I managed a brand and the development of new products. At that point in time, I had assumed I would continue working my way up that ladder. After a few years at that level, I was given the opportunity to take on sales responsibilities, and quickly realized that this job function was something that I really enjoyed. After some thought, I decided that I wanted to try it out full-time, and I moved into a Key Account Sales Manager position within consumer packaged goods. This move wasn’t planned, but it’s been an amazing opportunity for me thus far, and I’m so glad I decided to forgo the previous “plan”, as I would have missed out.

I’m confident that I’m currently where I need to be, and I wouldn’t be here if I didn’t take advantage of the opportunities that DeGroote offered me, both in school, and afterwards. While in school, I was actively involved in extra-curriculars and I took advantage of the career nights and advice offered by the advisors. Even today I make it a point to stay connected with the school on a regular basis, by attending seminars and networking events. I am also 100% sure that my career will make some more twists and turns, and to prepare myself for what’s to come, I made the decision to go back to school part-time and earn my MBA.

There are so many things I wish people had told me when I was in university, but if I can offer a little advice, it would be to take risks, do what makes you happy, and don’t follow the “plan” you had previously made for yourself. I would be in a very different place right now if I didn’t do these things, and I can tell you with certainty that I would be missing out.

Taylor Boer

B. Com ‘15

--

--