Reha Bublani
Me to You: Life in a New Country
2 min readOct 4, 2020

--

Dear Pa

Two weeks ago I said goodbye to you in the mountains in India and took another step to get to Canada. The goodbye had been building up for a few days and when the time came to finally say it, it was short and hurried. I did not want to cry and neither did you. But am sure we both eventually did.

The last few months have been hard for the entire world. I feel almost guilty saying that they have been a blessing for me. While I always had a sense of gratitude for my privileges, in the moment, I did not feel as blessed. I obsessed over not getting the job I wanted. I sometimes found myself cribbing over the uncertainty. I did sometimes complain of boredom. But I was mindful of the opportunity we got as a family to spend time with each other. I was thankful for being able to provide for you, a safe, comfortable space away from the city, in the midst of green.

I can now smile and connect the dots backwards. And I am glad I did not get the job I wanted when I wanted it. For that was not the perfect time. I am glad that I went through the periods of uncertainty for it prepared me for the times to come.

Through all this wisdom and bonus time together, I still felt unprepared to say a bye to you. No time with your parents is ever enough, is it?

While I find my grounding in this new country and figure things around, I am looking forward to sharing my adventures with you through my letters, just like old times.

Till we physically are together again

Love

Me

--

--