Assignment 2: Character Design

MAMARUSSIAN657
MEA 300: Game Design
3 min readSep 13, 2018

Here, we have 5 sketches of my main character, although my tasks supposedly is sketch 5 of different characters, but I went and stick with the rest for my main character. The first row reveals everything about this character and his appearance.

My character here is the main protagonist of my series called “Animmortal”, supposedly is a project of my manga series which I planned on doing somewhat in the future. His name’s Jason Smith, age 17, German-American, 6' 12", has an older sister, powers are flame attacks, and is a manly teen. Note: His hair’s blond, originally his is natural black as a later result to a mutation caused to his mind.

Here are the following results as my references used for designing my main protagonist, “JASON SMITH” and his setup.

  1. JOJO’S BIZARRE ADVENTURE STARDUST CRUSADERS VOLUME 25

2. JASON VOORHEE’S OUTFIT FROM MORTAL KOMBAT

3. SMITH & WESSON

As shown, 1 is a well popular manga series in Japan among with those in the west as well. My portrayment of my character’s design and art style is heavily based off of that in JOJO’S BIZARRE ADVENTURE. Next, the green trench coat on Jason Voorhee is my inspiration to designing the formula of my character plus the name as well. Lastly, I named my character after a famous gun company in the U.S., Smith & Wesson using just the Smith.

Here are my 3 sprite sheets in png files of my idle, jump, and running animations for my character and his digital form.

First sprite sheet is my idle, second is my jump with only 5 frames, and last is my run with 8 frames.

--

--

MAMARUSSIAN657
MEA 300: Game Design

I love anime/manga, war films & documents on topics like WW1 and WW2, and memes. I also planned in the future to publish my manga series. Plus I’m a total weeb.