Indie Game

Allan Ng
MEA 300: Game Design
2 min readDec 19, 2017

The game I tried was called Roguelight. This game was quite enjoyable after you got to understand how it works. At first, I didn’t know there was limited arrows so I started firing them and when I realized that I only had a few there was no way to progress any further because you quickly realize, you can’t see anything if you have no arrows left. The dungeon gets darker and darker and without arrows, you don’t have light and then you just have to wander around until you chance an encounter that can help you. I guess that’s why he had a feature to let you start from the beginning by holding down D+L for 3 seconds.

This is how it looks like while you are holding down the fire button to keep your arrow in hand and light the way for you like a torch.

This is what happens when you run out of arrows and can’t see anything anymore. At this point, you either have to start over or wander around.

Overall I think this game is definitely interesting. The sound track is quite nice and feeds to the eerie vibe that the game produces. Not knowing where you are going in complete darkness when there are ghosts around.

--

--