11/19/2019 Project Update

Charlton Asher McGlothlin
Measuring the Great Indoors
3 min readNov 19, 2019

The past week, I’ve been experimenting with some new devices to enhance the quality of data I’ve been collecting pertaining to how sound impacts our perception of space. I began by trying to develop a new method for determining if my system of can accurately assess a user’s reaction to different sounds in Brownie’s Cafe.

SmartThings Motion Sensor

My first approach was to purchase a motion sensor that could relay data on how many people are passing through Brownie’s Cafe after hours. I purchased the SmartThings Motion Sensor because it has the capability to relay this data and is compatible with the Amazon Alexa app.

SmartThings Hub

An unresolvable issue that I encountered is that the SmartThings Motion Sensor requires the SmartThings Hub to operate. I purchased the SmartThings Hub only to realize that it has a software with IOS for Iphone X, preventing me from being able to connect the hub to my SmartThings account.

It was at this point that I returned to an idea that I had earlier in the semester, post-occupancy surveys. I created a very rough mock-up of a survey box and left it in the bottom floor of Avery, but after one night, I received zero surveys. I knew I had to develop a better method for making people to respond to the surveys. I thought if I could find away to get their attention when they passed the survey box, I would receive more surveys.

Philips Hue Motion Sensor

The method I created involved purchasing a Philips Hue Motion Sensor and using it in conjunction with a Philips Hue Hub and Philips Hue Light Bulb that I already owned. I set the motion sensor to have a routine in which it turns off the Philips Hue Light Bulb after it doesn’t register motion for one minute. When someone walks by the Motion Sensor and the light bulb turns on, it catches their attention, thus drawing them over to the survey box.

I received several surveys after implementing this installation, they are as follows:

I definitely didn’t get the overall reaction that I thought I would. My goal for the remainder of the semester is to continue to use this system, and to test various noises to see how people react to them…as well as creating a new survey box.

While this survey box worked as an initial mock-up. I’d like to use the design of a new survey box as an opportunity to explore how the design of such a piece can increase the amount of data I receive.

--

--