Beyond Alexa_Qi

Qi Yang
Measuring the Great Indoors
3 min readDec 10, 2019

Start with the intention to encourage people to open the window in the studio, and breathe more fresh air.

cybernetic system

Hypothesis:

1, Every building has a smart management system

2, Personification of everything

Question:

1, Can each building has a unique character?

2, What if the metric of the building management system collides the feelings of humans?

3, How should the building management system interact with humans?

personas of some A.I.

Our feelings towards them…

our feelings towards them

So, What constructs the character of the building management system?

User Test…

1, Act

Act

2, Notify&Act

Notify&Act

3, Consent&Act

Consent&Act

4, Vote&Act

Vote&Act

5, Persuade

Persuade

Interesting User Insights:

1, “Notify-Act reminds me of my Mom. How she peels off fruit and reminds me to eat it.”

2, “Act without asking is irrespective for humans, but not for the AI. I know it will do good for me”

3, “No matter what, whether I have the right to overwrite AI is the most important”

It depends on whether it’s a public or private condition, whether the AI has built trust with you, and which type of action it is going to make.

Under the “Persuade” scenario, how people feel about different personalities?

No. 1 Plain persuasion

No. 2 Telling you the fact

No. 3 Social Reward

No. 4 Idealistic Reward

No. 5 Humor

No. 6 Show Judgement

No. 7 Personal Reward

No. 8 Polemical

No. 9 Threat

Interesting User Insights:

1, “Whether being Polemtical will work or not depends on how frequent you say that word ‘fuck’”

2, “I trust AI, it’s probably developed by someone more intelligent and considerate”

3, “I don’t trust what AI says”

--

--