Please Stop With the Quantity vs. Quality Debate

It’s both. It’s always been quality and quantity when it comes to having a successful writing career.

T.S. Johnson
Med Daily

--

This was NOT supposed to be the first article I wrote as I returned to writing on Medium again after more than a year’s hiatus.

Nope.

I was supposed to write about why I was away for so long and why I’m back (sort of), however, after spending some time reading Medium articles to see what was new on the platform since I’ve been gone, I quickly realized not much had changed when it came to giving bad writing advice to new Medium writers.

After reading several writing articles all but one gave some version of the tried and tired advice of:

“You should only write when you’re inspired. It’s quality not quantity that matters.”

One of these bad advice givers even had the audacity to say you shouldn’t promote your articles too much because you may offend your readers and they may unsubscribe from you and no longer read your work.

What in the entire F*CK???

At this point I don’t know if people are really that naive and just have no idea what goes into having a successful writing career but because they had some articles go…

--

--