An interview with Jean-Louis Dufloux — Get to know the author of the book “Cinquante et un

Discover the French Author Jean-Louis Dufloux, diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease at the age of fifty-one years old. His book is, a humorous, yet touching account of his daily life with Parkinson’s.

Inès Borgel
MedEngine Blog
4 min readOct 15, 2018

--

It started during my second week working at MedEngine. I was researching people with whom I could speak with to gain a better understanding of what it means to live with Parkinson’s Disease. This is how I came across the book called “Cinquante et un” (French for fifty-one) by the author Jean-Louis Dufloux. I started reading it and was immediately hooked by the humorous, and instructive tone that the book was written in. I finished it within a few days!

I wanted to know more about the “Double-Clic” character so I reached out to the author for an interview and within minutes, I got a response from Monsieur Dufloux. Born and raised Parisian, he works in the consulting sector, is married and a father of four. He was diagnosed with PD when he was fifty-one — hence the title of his book.

How did you come up with the idea to write a book about your Parkinson’s disease?
After 7 years of living with the disease, I had the feeling that explaining my experience of PD to my family and friends could be of interest for me and them. A smarter way to understand each other and to overcome some reservations that some of them have in interacting with me. They were not comfortable talking with me about this matter, the book was a means to make them free.

How did you come up with the simple, humorous tone the book is written in?
PD is a very annoying and boring disease for the patient. It’s also a disease with a terribly “old” and often false image. Humour allows for a bit of distance from the disease which makes it easier to accept. But, the true reason is that humour is my first and most powerful weapon in resisting PD.

What were the biggest obstacles you faced when the book came out? How did it feel to expose such private matters to the rest of the world?
Before “pressing the red button”, I hesitated for a prolonged period of time as I knew that some parts of my book give access to a form of intimacy. But if you don’t accept this, your book is void of sense. So, I decided to submit my book to my wife and children’s for agreement. I took into account their suggestions and released it to the wider public. However, most of the world has no interest in my book. It’s aimed solely at people facing PD. And the reports were that for some of them, my book was of some help.

How do you feel technology could improve the routine of Parkinson’s patients?
Technology is a breakthrough to improve the daily lives of Parkinson’s patients. Every day, you find new technology initiatives on the web, designed to help people facing such a disease. For Parkinson’s, the main concern is how to anticipate fluctuations due to dopaminergic variations. Any technology helping to understand how you can better monitor and schedule your medication adds significant value.

Did you use other Health apps since your diagnosis?
I used Lumosity, a brain game and training app. But no App dedicated to PD.

Do you feel there is a real use for a health app specially tailored for Parkinson patients? And if yes, what would be the most important features for you?
Sure! For me the App could be of significant help in two ways:

  1. Tracking your activity records and medication use to give a neutral and objective observation for your neurology,
  2. Anticipating a low level of dopamine in your brain and consequently indicates when and how much medication to take to regulate it.

While talking with him, I was very pleasantly surprised by his openness and engagement to raise awareness for Parkinson’s disease. Jean-Louis Dufloux’s book is a chance for everyone to get a better insight into a disease, that is far from being uncommon but that remains a mystery to most.

The book is entertaining and easy to read — currently only available in French, which makes it a great opportunity to train your high school French!

Good news everyone: Jean-Louis Dufloux now has a blog where you can have a read of the first chapter of the book in English! 🤗

Jean-Louis Dufloux, Cinquante et un, Editions Librinova, Février 2018

Reach out to us on social media — Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--