In healthcare, perspective makes a difference.

MedHelperNow
medhelper
Published in
1 min readSep 16, 2020

--

Tasks that are straightforward and simple for those of us in the medical field, can be incredibly stressful for those who aren’t. I remember when my friend had surgery and was told to change the bandage after 24 hours and clean with a solution they had sent with him. As a nurse, I know what they meant. My friend; despite having a PhD in a science field, had no idea what they meant and was too embarrassed to ask for more detail. He originally asked how to remove the bandage.

When I asked more questions about the dressing, I realized he had no idea where to start or what to do. I came over and showed him how to change the dressing, clean the site, and rebandage. He was so relieved and felt comfortable doing it on his own after that. He just needed someone to come show him how to do it properly with the supplies the Physician gave him. I also showed him some non-pharmacological ways to reduce pain that he probably didn’t remember hearing after the surgery. Not everyone is friends with a nurse or feels comfortable asking the ones they do know.

--

--

MedHelperNow
medhelper

The platform that connects people with verified, reviewed, and skilled nurses for free!