Why do I need home healthcare?

MedHelperNow
medhelper
Published in
2 min readSep 20, 2020

--

Photo by Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

Following are some of the reasons that have highlighted the need for home healthcare in present times.

COVID-19 has made going to hospital for minor issues not advisable

Hospitals have instructed patients to stay home and seek telemedicine options. So, if you have conditions that aren’t urgent but still need some medical assistance and can’t be done via telemedicine options such as injection etc. what options are you left with?

Doctor wait time isn’t worth it for minor issues

Most often you have to wait weeks if not months to get an appointment with your doctor for non-emergency situations. Situation is even worse if you are with an HMO. On top of it all COVID has made getting an appointment nearly impossible.

Immobility

If you are immobile either due to age, illness or disability you might prefer to have medical help without having to go to a facility every so often. It can be an all day event, just going to the doctor, depending on circumstances. Bring the simple stuff to you when that option is available to you.

Cost concerns

I remember going to ER once for stomach pain and ended up with a bill of $7000. Even though I had insurance I still ended up paying $1200 for that visit. That incident has instilled a fear for

hospital that I tend to avoid hospitals if I can really afford to do so. If I needed a simple injection once a week, that extra “convenience” at office can add up really fast. I would have to pay out of pocket either way. By hiring a local nurse for that kind of task, I know where the money is going and I feel better having the option to choose who gives me those shots.

Busy lifestyle

Another reason is simply the convenience of getting medical help from the comfort of your home and save you some time. Driving to and from the office just to get an injection or catheter placed can take a few hours when all is said and done. Hiring a local nurse to place a catheter safely would take no more than 15 minutes and you wouldn’t have to leave your house.

Supporting the local Community & Connection

I would be much more comfortable getting help from the community; nurses that are in my neighborhood, near my location. This would allow me to develop a long-term trust and relationship with a nurse for my care. Another benefit is that I am also supporting the local nurses looking for side gigs to support their income, instead of paying to a large corporation or agency.

--

--

MedHelperNow
medhelper

The platform that connects people with verified, reviewed, and skilled nurses for free!