Blissfully Ignorant: A Sensorial Experience

Andrew Nielsen
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readJul 1, 2017
http://the-political-ear.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/thomas-hoepker.jpg

When looking at this photo I almost see two individual pictures. The foreground and background depict such different emotions that it looks like the two pictures were just put together. The first thing you see is this group of friends, who are just hanging out and are blissfully ignorant of their surroundings. Then in the background you see this massive cloud of smoke and destruction. I think the part that bothers me the most about this photo is the people who are facing the city and are able to see the smoke. They would realize what is going on around them if they weren’t so focused on themselves and their friends. I chose to use both imagery and audio to convey my sensorial experience when viewing this video. It begins with blissful music and images to convey how I feel when first looking at the picture. The video then shifts to pictures and audio of panic and destruction. I decided to continue the blissful music because even after you notice the impeding destruction in the background your mind still goes back to the calm and happy friends.

--

--