Content and platforms: a media experiment

Ashton Greenwood
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readApr 7, 2017

For my media experiment this week, I wanted to play around with content and the platforms they are typically associated with. I wanted to take a platform that is a frequent procrastination tool (Facebook) and fill it with the academic content one should be working one when they are procrastinating. To fulfill this role, I posted on my Facebook about gender, gender roles, and wage inequality as it is the newest topic we are focusing on in my sociology class. I asked my friends to weight in. Next, I wanted to fill a productivity tool (Microsoft Word) with content from a procrastination platform (Twitter). To cdo this, I pull all of my original tweets from the last 10 days and tried to weave them into a story typed up as a Word doc. My tweets are bolded so you can see where the twitter content is in the story. If I had one critic of this experiment, it would be that I feel like the Facebook post isn’t academic enough to serve the purpose I was after. It was actually quite difficult to construct a post that would be academic but still encourage my friends to engage with it. Unfortunately, I think it came out framed as more social justice and less academic topic.

--

--