Corporate Ethnographer looking for a job, DESPERATELY!

Logan Levy
Media Ethnography
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2017

My name is Logan Levy, I am a 21-year-old Junior/Sophomore/Senior. I love college so much that I have attended four different universities; CCBC, CFCC, Towson University and UMBC. My graduation date, in addition to my current year is not only a mystery to myself but to the advising staff as well. Based on credits alone, I am Junior but I could graduate as early as this upcoming spring. I am from Owings Mills and I love all sports. When I was in high school, I was a two-sport athlete with the potential to play at the collegiate level for lacrosse. However, due to poor life choices I opted not to do it. It is a decision that I have to live with everyday. Although, it is not the end of the world and I am stronger for surviving what I went through, it is still a sore subject for me. I have learned that life and reality go on whether I choose to participate or not. So, my current attitude is to accept it, learn from it and move on.

Me and Kylie (my dog)

As for the assignment, my dream job is to be a Beat Writer/Sports Radio or talk show host for one of the major TV/Radio networks; Fox Sports 1, ESPN, CBS or NBC. My biggest assets are my communication skills, my writing and my passion. If I enjoy something, my passion for all things sports and writing is what drives me. I want to be the G.O.A.T (Greatest of All Time), I am a very competitive person with the drive to be the greatest writer/reporter this world has ever seen.

As for the topic of Media Ethnography and how it has evolved and some of skills it will take to be a good employee, here is a quote from “Media Anthropology; Meaning, Embodiment, Infrastructure, and Activism”. Bryce Peake says, “If digital media has opened up a space for us to think critically about the transformation of mass media and people’s relationship with it, so too has digital media opened up new career paths for anthropologists” (Peake). What I believe he is referring to is the advancement of technology and citizen journalism. Social media has provided so many jobs as companies are hiring “social media managers” and other positions that deal solely with the companies respective social media pages. In order to be skilled enough to get a job, I must be up-to-date and “relevant” in the social media world.

I currently write for a Baltimore Ravens blog, BaltimoreBeatdown.com. In this blog, I write 4–5 articles a week discussing the Baltimore Ravens. I want to have more of a variety thus I am applying to other blogs for other teams in different sports. I need to learn how to take criticism (which I do not like), accept that I am not always right and learn from those who have been down this road before me. This career field is not made for those who are not willing to go through a couple of ‘hoops’ to get there, but I am willing to give this my best shot to accomplish my dreams.

www.baltimorebeatdown.com

--

--