Ethnographic Essay: Dialysis Patients

Andrew Nielsen
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readJun 18, 2017
https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/65/02/19/65021959d8975196c9710f79017e51c8.jpg

My Topic: Dialysis patients face many difficulties in their life due to having to go to dialysis multiple times per week. A majority of dialysis patients are above the age of 55 and don’t have much hope for getting a kidney transplant anytime soon. Since I have started dialysis I have began several applications and online services to help me manage this major lifestyle change. I will be researching to see if other patients have been using the media resources that are readily at their hands to help them manage their disease.

https://acpinternist.org/archives/2012/02/acpi-201202-dialysis_a1.jpg

Focus: I will be focusing mainly on dialysis patients with smartphones. If they have access to a smartphone then they have access to a wealth of tools and knowledge to help them conquer dialysis.

Specifications of Research: For my research I will be surveying as many different ages as possible. In my study, age is a factor that can possibly limit a patient from using technology to its full potential. I plan on doing a survey that is only a few questions long that will determine their involvement in online media and how advantageous it is to their daily life.

Calendar:

· Week 2: Decide on topic and write survey

· Week 3: Pass out surveys, collect and interpret data, outline

· Week 4: Begin Draft

· Week 5: Complete Draft, Complete Revisions, and Submit the Final Draft

--

--