Ethnography in my Everyday Life

Giselle
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readMay 31, 2017
How do I use ethnography on a daily day basis? (Source: GN)

This comic details my life working at Nielsen. I am a member of their Operations Technology Engineering and Data Science Program, and I am currently leading a project for CDAR Database Migration. This database migration holds and sorts millions of data points that Nielsen has collected from all kinds of mediums (TV, Radio, Mobile Phone, etc.). In order to best design the Database’s interface and increase efficiency of accessing data, I must conduct ethnographic research in order to understand different people’s uses of the database. With that information and knowledge, we would be able to then create the database in a way that allows for easy information access and visualization. The prompt asked us create a short comic about how we would use ethnography in our future careers. I believe that this comic is informative about my career as of current, as well as how I would use ethnography in my project.

___________________________________________________________________

Comic Creator: ToonDoo

http://www.toondoo.com/

--

--