Experience El Clásico from a fan’s POV

Morgan Irwin
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readMay 5, 2017

In addition to the photos and observations from my participant observation while watching the second leg of El Clásico at Sláinte, I also recorded sound from the crowd at the bar. The clip included in this post is the last 30 or so seconds of the game. At first, the bar is quiet enough that you can hear the commentator clearly. Then, Barça has control of the ball on Madrid’s half and one thing leads to another and then bam- the crowd erupts as Messi scores a goal in the final minute of the game. I cut the crowd’s celebration short due to an overwhelming amount of expletives. I was inspired by the observation activity we did in class and I hope this audio, paired with an image of the inside of the bar, can help to place you, the reader, at the bar as if you were there as well.

http://www.slaintepub.com/sports.html

--

--