Experiment 2

Noor Qureshi
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readJun 15, 2018

Below I have provided a photo of my field notes from this weeks experiment. I went to the Miller Branch library in Howard County to observe the children’s computer lab. I observed this computer lab for about 30 minutes and have recorded my observations below.

An interesting and creative thing that I read in Biruk’s reading was her way in making people comfortable. For example, she was gathering data from people in Malawi, and her way of thanking them and helping them feel more comfortable was by gifting them with two bars of soap. “ The logic of giving a small gift for research participation emerges from human subjects research ethical standards rooted in an ideal- type agentive subject who participates altruistically in research and thus provides pure, untainted (truthful) information.” I found this interesting because I thought that if I were to turn my notes into real research, I could use a similar method to talk to kids. It is also something I had never thought of before.

--

--