Experiment 3

Noor Qureshi
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readJun 8, 2018

Below I have provided three drawings of objects that I believe will be important to my research. These objects vary in their uses and each play a significant role. The first drawing is of a Muslim dating app, one of many that I will be researching. The next drawing depicts an audio recorder that I will be using to record interviews with. Finally, the third drawing is of my laptop. I will be using this object to conduct all of my online research.

A major point that Boellstorff makes in his reading is that a good research question for an ethnography must center around issues that are relevant in a larger community. The main aspect that these three objects hold in common is that they enable and give a voice to the issues that are prevalent within Islamic culture. As a result, these issues are what I will be studying within my ethnography. For example, one thing I have learned so far is that there are dating applications that cater to different kinds of Muslims. This could include their sexuality, ethnicity, or even level of religiosity. By interviewing people within my own community and researching about these apps, I will be able to answer questions about where these issues stem from within the Muslim community as a whole.

--

--