Fidelity in Activists (A Media Experiment)

Destinee Morris
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2017

I have been thinking a lot about the students at UMBC and how devoted they are to being activists. When I think about fidelity, I think about people making promises or (as defined by Oxford Dictionaries) their “faithfulness to a person, cause, or belief, demonstrated by continuing loyalty and support”.

There are many different types of activists and I hope to sort through the types of activists at UMBC by asking them where there fidelity lies. I suspect many of these activists’ support and fidelity will either lie with the people or with the country.

I chose these photos because they respresent people coming together to show their faithfulness to different causes and beliefs. I hope to find out what UMBC activists actually care about fighting for and how true they stick to their words. Do these activists act and support one thing on social media but don’t show their support in person? For example, do the activists show support against gender discrimination, but then turn around and use gender stereotypes such as “you run like a girl”.

--

--