Field jottings from participant observation with Baltimore based Foodstagrammer

Nicole Delabrer
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readMar 18, 2017

Summary: I was at The Food Market in Hampden, Baltimore on Sunday, March 12. I was meeting blogger Melissa. I was doing fieldwork there to observe Melissa blog about her food. She chose the location and said that she has not been there in a while and did not remember the last time she had blogged a dish from there. I learned a little more about her background as a Foodstagrammer but more importantly her process of how she blogs. She followed the pattern that I discussed in my vignette of being more interested in the looks of food rather than the taste. I am interested to complete the same observations with multiple food bloggers in order to compare and contrast them alongside with traditional food journalists. While Foodstagram blogger Melissa will post a picture with a short caption and some hashtags thrown in, there are still food journalist out there writing in depth analysis such as Wesley Case from The Baltimore Sun in his article about The Food Market.

--

--

Nicole Delabrer
Media Ethnography

I am currently a student at University of Maryland, Baltimore County. I am pursuing a degree in Media and Communications and French graduating in May 2018.