First impressions: A media experiment

Sim Rivers
Media Ethnography
Published in
3 min readMay 6, 2017

For this media experiement, I went into the Theatre Department’s Photo Archives again. I went through the publicity photos from every show from Fall 2009 to Spring 2016 and downloaded the first picture I saw for each show that featured a person of color. I want you, as the audience, to go through these photos and respond to them. Who do you think they are? Where are they positioned in the photo? What was your eye drawn to first? What kind of story does the photo tell? What do you notice? Keep in mind, from Fall 2009 to Spring 2016, the department has put on 28 shows. These individual shows are the ones that have pictures featuring actors of color kept in the archives.

All photos courtesy of the UMBC Dept. of Theatre.

--

--

Sim Rivers
Media Ethnography

Millennial Professor-Dad-Type trying to rebrand as Living-Above-My-Means-Artist. I try to write what I know to find out what I don’t.