Hooked, Caught, and Reeled In: Pinterest’s Grasp On Our Reality and Imaginative Worlds

Emma Hage Guyot
Media Ethnography
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2017

I was scrolling through Pinterest and I somehow found myself in a whole new world. It was one I had created purely within my imagination, full of endless possibilities and perfect scenarios. I found myself wondering, if I hadn’t just seen this planted right in front of my face, would I even want it? Would I have even been able to think up this idea on my own? Sometimes that’s the nice thing about technology and social media, it sparks thoughts and ideas that you never would have thought existed inside your head, but then once you see it you’re like “yes, that is EXACTLY what I want! How did they know?! Who created this same exact replica of something I wanted but never knew how to make a reality.”

In our society today there is a large split between those who view technology as a blessing, as something positive, constantly contributing to our lives. However, then there are those that feel it is a hinderance, taking over and taking away from the simpler moments in life; such as enjoying a picnic in the park or watching a movie without continuously scrolling through Facebook or Instagram. Are we not satisfied with our own lives? Do we need to constantly be searching for more to appease a need inside ourselves? Or, perhaps do we enjoy, for just the slightest of moments, allowing ourselves to be part of an alternate reality, imagining our lives as something we may not necessarily need or want, but instead that is different.

Over the years Pinterest has become one of the quickest growing forms of online entertainment. You can save pins, create folders, share them with your friends, the possibilities are endless! Needless to say it is also extremely fun. Who doesn’t want to look at tons of things they wish they had or want to do? However, I think the question needs to be posed, what is the ratio between people who actually pin something, imagine it, then get up and make it reality, and then those who just enjoy the possibility for a brief moment and then let the beautiful imagined world pass.

If you are one of the people in the second example, ask yourself “Is this hurting me? Am I allowing my desires for things cloud my true reality and what I have in my life now?” The thing with the first people, is that they make their imagination a reality. They see something, they want it, they get it. Us folk in the second category (yes, I am most definitely guilty), we tend to hold on to these imaginations, tucking them away for a rainy day. The problem I’ve found with that unfortunately. is that I find myself always wanting more. I desire specific things, crave new moments, and at times I find myself wishing my life would speed up so that I can achieve them, when in reality I merely need to just take a chance and realize that the things I imagine and desire can actually come true.

As subjects in a world that is constantly overwhelming us with continuous forms of information, possibilities, and desires, I think we need to focus on learning how to ask ourselves the right questions. What do I want out of life? What do I imagine for myself? What do I want to achieve or do? Who do I want to be? While it may seem intimidating, I think outlets such as Pinterest are a great source to use these questions, browse through the many options, and figure out the answers. The ideas that sources such as Pinterest spark within the mind can only help and create more options for you, if you allow it. Use them, open up to the crazy amount of possibilities and choices that they present, to help make the world or life you imagine finally become one of reality that you can wake up everyday and embrace.

--

--