Imagination: a media experiment

Nicole Delabrer
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2017

For this media experiment, I chose to focus on the keyword imagination. I drew my images based on what came to mind when I thought of imagination. As a kid, imagination is a huge part of your life. I especially think of reading books as they only give you the words and you must imagine the rest.

For my first drawing, I incorporated those two thoughts to create the things that a child would imagine coming to life out of a book. My second drawing has to do with the brain. You often see cartoons with the brain depicted as gears grinding together. I see flowers representing the brain, as imagination causes your thoughts to flourish. For my third drawing, I drew an iceberg. Icebergs are usually associated with consciousness or culture. I see the iceberg as a representation of your imagination. I consider what’s underwater to be imagination. There is so much more in life than what can be seen at the surface. Lastly, something that comes to mind while thinking of imagination is the arts. Like many things, the arts would not be possible without imagination. My last drawing does not have color in order to represent how colorless or dull the arts would be without imagination.

--

--

Nicole Delabrer
Media Ethnography

I am currently a student at University of Maryland, Baltimore County. I am pursuing a degree in Media and Communications and French graduating in May 2018.