Jamming with the musicians themselves.

Elias Guzman
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readMar 31, 2017

So, what is the deal with showcasing your musical skills on social media so others can know of you? I was asking myself the same question until I took part of the experience of putting my own musical ability online.

Being recorded can make any musician more aware what note and what scale is being played in. As a first timer, I was very nervous and very unsure of myself, but I was not playing along since I was with musicians that were used to being recorded (and some had their own personal camera set up).

I was invited to play alongside three talented (in my opinion professional) musicians and two well-trained singers. The cameras were almost always on the one that was doing some crazy cut and were hardly on the audience. The way in which the musicians played was very different from how I played as I felt so much pressure to not mess up the entire song.

After the program was over I went home to see how the people responded to the small clip that was posted online, which I had to wait for until March 21. What I found was that this certain musician (the drummer) tagged all the musicians and myself on to the post to broaden the potential viewers. Although it is not the most viewed clip on his Instagram, it did help the others to get more people to take notice of them.

The experience was very thrilling for me. It was interesting to see the process first hand. The amount of time that the drummer put in to post the best 60 seconds from the entire two hours of playing is incredible. As of the day of this post, the young drummer has been invited to play at another event on April 7th along with the bass player. The keyboard player was invited to play on March 25th at an event in Philadelphia. The event in which they were invited to were paid event and this could be thanks to the fact that at the place in which we played at, there was someone looking to contract local talent and spread the word about these guys.

--

--

Elias Guzman
Media Ethnography

Every musical note has a unique tone, just like every word has a unique meaning.