Media experiment 4: EDM Vs. Classical music

Shahrzad Darafsheh
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readMar 31, 2017

For this media experiment, I followed the trend of testing my creativity within two different scenarios. Since last time I tested the effects of silence vs. sound (music in particular), this week I wanted to see if the type of music made any difference. Per usual, I allotted approximately 4 minutes to each design. In the first, I listened to EDM while in the second I listened to classical music. Now don’t get me wrong, I am a *cue Donald Trump’s voice* huge fan of classical music, but I found it to actually be a little annoying in this experiment. Regardless of this annoyance, however, I found that there wasn’t a significant difference between the two cases. I felt that the first was a little more creative than the second, but the second design kinda resembles Deadmau5’s logo (this may possibly be due to the fact that I was itching to listen to my edm music again?). Regardless, I think that this experiment proves that it the type of music depends on the designer and their mood as I have found that it has helped me in the past when I could not focus on any of my work.

--

--