Media Experiment: How does stream effects and quality affect Twitch viewers?

Apisit Chatarsa
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readMar 14, 2017

For this experiment I wanted to see how the on screen layouts of streamers and the quality of their broadcasts effected their audiences. The first 30 seconds contains my own stream with no on screen layouts and low quality graphics. The second 30 seconds contains video of the streamer Luminosity and his stream with some on screen layouts and high definition quality. You can see in my stream, I chose not to picture my face while in Luminosity’s stream he is pictured on the left. He also has subscribers listed in the top right corner of his stream. The inclusion of camera and subscriber list make the stream feel more personal and intimate therefore encouraging viewers to keep watching. This relates to my final project by attempting to classify the on screen layouts and quality as either screenwork or screen labor and to relate them to creativity with Twitch streamers.

--

--