Chloe Jackson
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readMar 18, 2017

--

Media Experiment: Notes and Observations

When I went into this interview I had an idea in my head of how it was going to go. I was meeting with a woman who plans to open a doggy daycare business in Baltimore within the next year. I wanted to ask specific questions about her upbringing and how that contributed to her ideas about success. I forgot my question list at home and had to wing the interview. I did some recording of the conversation but the sound quality wasn’t great. So when I got home I quickly jotted down everything I remembered about the conversation we had. On one side are a list of starter questions and the layout of the place we planned on meeting, and on the other are my observations and notes.

Back of the page with notes and observations
My list of questions and the layout of the cafe we were supposed to meet in

Even though I didn’t have my questions for the interview we still had a pretty good conversation and I was able to cover most of the topics that I planned on discussing. She agreed to meet with me at a later date so I can ask more questions. My hopes are that as we talk more she becomes more comfortable opening up and we can dig a little deeper into how she imagines her success for her business in the future. I feel like the answers she gave may have been things that she felt like she should say, or had to say, especially since she was being recorded. All in all it was a fun experience and I look forward to speaking with her again in the future.

--

--