Media experiment: The invisibility of Asian Actors

Sim Rivers
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readApr 10, 2017

When is the last time you saw a central, main character played by an asian actor?

This media experiment was designed to highlight the issues relating to Asian and Asian-American visibility in theatre, acting, and media. It features Elizabeth Ung, an actor and theatre artist in the UMBC Theatre Department. I gave Liz the time it takes to watch the Ghost in the Shell trailer (embedded below) to explain her thoughts on visibility and representation. The audio is meant to be played while watching the Ghost in the Shell trailer when prompted by title cards, as these were the circumstances experienced while recording this interview.

--

--

Sim Rivers
Media Ethnography

Millennial Professor-Dad-Type trying to rebrand as Living-Above-My-Means-Artist. I try to write what I know to find out what I don’t.