Media Experiment: The laborious process in creating art for Instagram.

Kelvin Wong
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2017

One of the artists that I’m researching on is Randy Crisologo, or better known as itsbirdy. He is a popular Canadian artist who uses various media platforms to help promote his artworks and his business. While I was figuring out what to write my media experiment on, I found myself scrolling through Instagram hoping to find some kind of inspiration. I came across itsbirdy’s profile and noticed that he had recently posted a new art piece of popular Disney characters, Mickey Mouse and Stitch. I liked it and had to screenshot it, (for future art reference, as any artist would say.)

Once I had enough of scrolling through Instagram I switched to Youtube and I saw itsbirdy had also uploaded a new video about his process in creating that same drawing of Mickey and Stitch. It’s interesting to see how artists are able to connect and maintain multiple media profiles on a daily basis while still being able to find time to create new artworks and also spend time with their friends. The amount of time spent in front of the screen can be exhausting, which one can see why artists don’t sleep much often. Artists like itsbirdy would record themselves drawing and then post the finished piece on Instagram from their phone. At the same time, they are editing the drawing video on their computer which as we all know, can be time-consuming, especially when the videos are more than 10 minutes long sometimes. Once the video is complete and uploaded, the artist would then start the exhausting process all over again.

--

--