Media Experiment: Twitch IRL

Apisit Chatarsa
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readMay 8, 2017

My media experiment this week was to test out the aspects of screenwork within Twitch’s subcategory “IRL”. Within this category, users can live stream on Twitch doing everyday things like going to the grocery store, playing music, or basically anything they feel like doing that falls within Twitch’s stream rules. While attempting to set up my own IRL stream, I found myself going through a great amount of screenwork watching videos and tutorials trying to stream from my phone. As you can tell I could not figure out how to add sound to my stream. But Twitch IRL has inspired me to think that screen labor may be possible through this category. Rather than spending all day behind a desk and a screen, streamers can now walk through the world streaming their experience.

--

--