Preparing yourself for the video game field

Conor Kennedy
Media Ethnography
Published in
1 min readMay 8, 2017

I find this video fascinating for my research because while it is directly addressing issues and factors those wishing to enter the field of video game design must face, it is also indirectly addressing several underlying issues, like maintaining a creative drive, which has been a big factor of my research. This video talks about how if you wish to become a professional, it could be 5–6 years of working on other people’s projects until you get a chance to work on your own game. As I have previously talked about with one of my subject’s, Grant, being forced to go from working on his own idea to someone else’s, which as the video states he would have to do in the professional field as well, I wonder how this effects their creative drive, passion, and motivation to work on these projects?

--

--