Sports Journalism: The Evolution goes beyond sports and media

Logan Levy
Media Ethnography
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2017
http://zombiejournalism.com/2013/01/teo-fix-sports-media/

My theory, that I have reached through significant research, is bigger the sports and sports media in general. My theory surrounds the evolution of technology and its enormous effect on society as a whole.

Listen to an old sports game on radio, before 1970, and listen to detailed imagery by the announcer. It is an art, beautiful work by these announcers who paint the picture very vividly like I am there/watching the game. However, technology has set us back but catapulted us forward as well. It has set us back because radio is almost non-existent and announcers are not nearly as skilled as they were back than. The sports announcers on TV, today, are lazier and not as talented. They rely too much on the HD and millions of cameras to show the viewers the play and every angle.

Not saying that I do not like seeing every angle and every aspect but I also think part of the experience is hearing the announcer. I know we are not supposed to use data or research in this post, but I could not resist. Below are two videos; One is of Joe Buck (Fox Sports biggest, most famous announcer) “ruining” several big plays while the other is of Al Michaels (NBC announcer) calling the Miracle game (USA hockey beats the Soviet Union).

My theory: Technology has brought us forward, visually, but it may have set us back in terms of work ethic and how we present things. Now, most Sports news is broken via Twitter and it is less than 140 characters right? So the biggest stories and news are being condensed. How can you accurately and efficiently break a story in less than 140 characters. If you know the answer, let me know because my articles would be way too long if that were the case.

--

--